Wednesday, September 15, 2010

The fridge is on at my mothers house...

And it's sooooo bizarre for me.

I just find it so strange to look in there and see so much food and nothing that I want to eat. Like... Nothing.

Oh and I ate a piece of fruit from out of there yesterday and it was so cold on my teeth. Yucky.

Sunday, September 12, 2010

I'm done work

I finished work for the summer, and it kinda feels like winning the lottery! WOOHOO!!!

I've been working with the heli-skiing company I worked with(and quit) like 3 years ago. It's been fun, but I now know for sure that it is not the thing for me, and that I want to be where the love of my life is(that's Rene in case you're wondering)

So, now what?

All I know is that I want to learn more about chocolate. I love it, it's what I really want to do with my life. So we will see how that goes, hopefully I can just find a job with one of the other chocolate shops in Edmonton for now, but I would LOVE LOVE LOOOOVVVEEE to go and work in say... Belgium. :) but who wouldn't?

As for other updates:

The fridge is still off

So are the lights

I have been using regular toilet paper lately(With not being home and.... you know... that whole being lazy thing)

The car is re-insured(Booooo)

My sourdough starter is.... tired, but kinda alive

The computer is usually off

I've been dabbling in making my own hair gel(Successfully I might add, just working on making it last more than 3 days before rotting)

I've been sugaring my legs instead of using a razor(Yeah, the razor is still there, but I'm working on that)

Still no shampoo or toothpaste

AND I've been doing oil pulling... most days(I've been living out of a suitcase for a while so some days my oil is still packed)


... that's all I can think of right now.


What have you been up to?

Thursday, August 5, 2010

I've got a new job

The only thing I don't like about it, is that I'm out of town for it.

It's actually an 8 hour drive away from home :(

Which means I won't get to see Rene as much. Which makes me sad.

But! On the positive side, if I do this, and I get a job with them for the winter, it means that Rene will be able to go to school next year(Not the one coming up but the one after that) Which is good. :)

So, things are good. :)


Update on the fridgeless-ness.

I like it. Rene doesn't seem to have any problems with it either. Our milk does go bad faster. But we just drink it faster. Milk is really the only thing we have that needs to be refrigerated... We buy meat the day we need it, and cheese lasts a while. butter we keep on the counter anyways, and eggs have been doing fine just being flipped everyday. :)

My family thinks we are crazy. Personally I'm very proud of us. :)

This is what it looked like when I did it.




Since this picture I have started to use the empty fridge part as storage. and our freezer portion is much much much emptier. All we have in there right now is some jam, milk, a little bit of cheese and the ice that keeps it all cool. :)


I LOVE not drinking ice cold water. Mmmm. So much better.

Friday, July 2, 2010

If all your friends were jumping off a bridge...

Would you?


Probably not because that would just be stupid. But if all my friends were turning off their fridges, would I feel inspiered and try to follow suit? Probably... yes.

I have been reading about alot of people who have turned off their fridges, and I feel incredibly excited when I hear that, I may even dream about it a little bit, but just a little bit. :)

Rene was initially very very against it, saying that I was trying to change his life. Which I thought was a little bit over dramatic, I HATE cold water anyways, we only keep our beverages cold because of him, and he doesn't even drink that much water anyways. I think I might have found a solution though, we are going to try to turn off the fridge, and use the frezer portion of our fridge as a cooler, for now. I've said that if it isn't working, we can turn it back on.


Who know's maybe this will fail miserably, maybe it will free us just a little bit more.

I'm hoping to turn the beast off this weekend, if I do, I will let you all know of the progress on monday. :)

Have a good weekend.

Tuesday, June 29, 2010

3 weeks sans computer, and lovin it

I would apologize for not posting for the past few weeks, but I'm not going to, 1 because no one wants to hear it, and 2 because I'm not sorry.

The reason I haven't posted on here in almost 3 weeks is that we turned our computer off after I made my last post and simply haven't found a need to turn it on yet.

It acutally started out as a dare to Rene, He had the day off work and I simply said "I bet you can't leave the computer turned off all day, you'll go crazy." so he left it off, and I said the same thing the next day. And we just haven't turned it back on yet. We don't need to. My phone connects to the internet and so does the wii(I'm on the wii right now).

I think we're both happy with it, I haven't really felt the need to turn it on.(Rene just reminded me that skype is on the computer, which is what he calls his mum on)

With all the extra time I've had from not being on the computer at all, I've been reading alot, and the library is my best friend(I have 6 books out right now, and I think I've started a book a day habbit) One of the books I read was "Your money or your life" which Frugal+Urban suggested on her blog(The link is over on the right, great blog, go take a peak) GREAT GREAT GREAT book, Love it. Going to be following it. I actutally went a scoured the secondhand book stores in the area for it, and found it for 10 dollars(Which is something the authors would be proud of I think. And I'm making Rene read it. It's something I feel like I can stand behind.

If you are at all interested it's something worth taking a look at, and maybe a quick read through.

Also, Audrey, if you read this, I did sign up for ravelry, you should email me and I will tell you my account name. :)

Till next time my friends

Tuesday, June 8, 2010

Seriously. Stop with the sugar alcohols

Please.

Stop eating sorbitol, xylitol and any other "tol"s you have in your home.

I know that they aren't as bad for you as white sugar is.

But they aren't good for you.

I have a HUGE beef with the "Tol"s of the world. You may think you are doing your body good using them. You're not. Your body doesn't recognize them as sugars and doesn't get any satisfaction from eating them, WHICH MEANS you will still want more sugar. So while you aren't ingesting sugar, you're also not making your body happy, and you will just want more sugar right after you've consumed your "tol".




Please.


Just stop.

>:(

I'm done.

Saturday, June 5, 2010

I've got the knitting bug again

I've been knitting a lot lately, like every chance I get.

I just finished a pair of socks that I got a little bit anxious with and made them a tad too small. :) Fun part is, I knit them at the same time. I read about a way of knitting 2 socks at once that looked really hard, so I had to try. :) It's called!!!! Double knitting. It wasn't super hard, but it wasn't easy either, it's very unforgiving if you make a mistake. :) It was super cool though.

Well that's what I've been up to.

Do you knit or crochet?